20.3 C
January 18, 2021
News Politics

Govs who defected to opposition parties

In 2007, Amaechi contested and won the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary for Rivers. His name was substituted by the party, an action which he challenged in court. The case eventually got to the Supreme Court. He became Governor on October 26, 2007 after the Supreme Court ruled that he was the rightful candidate of the PDP and winner of the April 2007 Governorship election in Rivers State.

In August 2013, Amaechi was amongst seven Governors, who formed the G-7 faction within the PDP. In November 2013, Amaechi, alongside five members of the G-7, defected to the newly formed All Progressives Congress (APC) and became director general of Muhammadu Buhari’s presidential campaign.

2. Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto)

Aliyu Wamakko ran successfully for Governor of Sokoto in April 2007 on the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) platform and assumed office on 29 May 2007.

Wamakko, alongside five members of the G-7 defected to the opposition APC.

3. Murtala Nyako (Adamawa)

Murtala Nyako

Nyako was elected Adamawa Governor in April 2007.

In February 2008 the Election Petition Appeal Tribunal annulled his election, alleging electoral malpractices. The Speaker James Barka was sworn in as Acting Governor on 26 February 2008.

Nyako was reelected a landslide victory taking all 21 Local Government Areas in the fresh elections. He assumed office on 29 April 2008. Soon after, the House initiated moves to impeach Nyako but was dissuaded after the personal intervention of President Umaru Yar’Adua

Nyako, alongside five members of the G-7, defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

4. Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara)

Abdulfatah Ahmed

In the 26 April 2011 elections, Ahmed won the gubernatorial election on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Ahmed first defected alongside five members of the G-7 to the opposition party the All Progressives Congress and dumped the All Progressives Congress (APC) on July 31, 2018 for the PDP.

He revealed his decision at the time with former Senate President Bukola Saraki.

5. Musa Kwankwaso (Kano)

Musa Kwankwaso

Kwankwaso was elected Sokoto Governor on 29 May 1999. His first tenure was very eventful because of several other groups who were opposed to his alleged high-handedness.

In 2011, Kwankwaso was re-elected for a second term in office as Governor of Kano State from 29 May 2011 to 29 May 2015.

Kwankwaso was among the five members of the G-7 defected to the opposition APC.

6. Isa Yuguda (Bauchi)

In April 2007, Yuguda won Bauchi gubernatorial race on the platform of All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP). He was sworn in on May 29, 2007.

In April 2009, he defected from ANPP to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP). Yaguda was reelected Governor on 28 April 2011.

7. Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto)

Aminu Tambuwal

Tambuwal was elected Speaker of the House of Representatives under the platform of PDP but defected to APC in 2014.

He won the governorship ticket of the APC and defeated the PDP candidate in the 2015 election.

8. Godwin Obaseki (Edo)

Godwin Obaseki

On 29 September 2016, Obaseki was elected Edo Governor on the platform of the APC. In 2020, Obaseki sought re-election under the APC but was controversially disqualified by the party’s screening committee over alleged discrepancies in his certificates.

On Friday June 19, Obaseki defected to the PDP and was re-elected for a second term.

9. David Umahi (Ebonyi)

David Umahi

Umahi was elected Governor on 12 April 2015 on the platform of the PDP. He was re-elected in 2019 on the same platform.

On November 11, 2020, Umahi declared for the APC, claiming the PDP has not treated the South East well.

Source: Sun

Related posts

Strike: N30bn earned allowance to be shared between ASUU, NASU, SSANU, others — FG


Physically challenged persons to get $5,000 palliative


Tanker explosion: FCT will suffer if kogi road is cut off, says Bello


Leave a Comment